Suslick Step's
You're going to kill it today. High five!

What’s the Question?

Why is that person such a jerk?  Why did the IRS pick my return?  If there is a God where was He on September 11th, 2001?

Change your question, change your attitude and you’ll change your life.

The question you ask determines your attitude.  Asking a good question won’t help your attitude.  The attitude that it takes to change your life takes asking the right question.

     You get more done when you’re an early riser.  Having always been an early riser it’s no surprise to see me up early.  The time I rose in spring of 2008 was a different story.  The “inspiration” to rise early during this time in my life was from fear, anxiety and stress.   I called my wake up time O’dark thirty.  Have you ever had trouble sleeping?  When you lost a loved one, lost a job or lost a relationship did you find yourself tossing and turning?  Then at O’dark thirty you found yourself wide awake.  What did you do?  Where did you go?

I found myself outside in the backyard of one of our two side by side lake homes.  Imagine a clear, cool and moonlit morning.  The lights of Madison Wisconsin shine brightly across Lake Monona.  This is your typical medium city lake thirteen miles around by bike ride.  The Wisconsin Capital shines brightly across my pier.

You feel connected to the force at this time of the day.  That’s what I needed.  2007 had been the worst year of my life financially.  From 1968 to 2006 everything touched had turned to gold.  2007 was the year of the melt down.  2007 saw four businesses that I owed fail.  Bam.  Bam.  Bam.  Bam.  In a sense, all four failed before they started.  Looking back I can see that I did things right.  Then there were things I did wrong and things that I couldn’t control.

     Why do bad things happen to good people?  2007 was the year I finally had all the good boy boxes checked off.  My family and I attend worship each week.  I give more now than I used to make in a year.  I treat my wife and children as a high priority.   What did I do to deserve this?  I’m a good guy, I work hard and why me?

The above are good questions.  Was there a right question in mass of questions I had?  There was a O’dark thirty morning in the spring of 2008 that changed my life.  Perhaps it was divine intervention, the force from Star Wars II or maybe the fickle humor of the universe.  You can draw your own conclusions.  What was important was that the right question came to me.

I thought, “What if all the pain you have gone through is going for good?”  The right question that changed my life was “What can I learn from this?”

Change your question, change your attitude and you’ll change your life.  From that point on I felt a peace settle over me.  Everything is ok.  Better than I deserve.  Since then there have been mornings where I feel overwhelmed with fear, anxiety and stress.  After all, I have a wife, five children, a dog, and cat, two birds named Griffin and Jewel along with four new pet chickens.  This is all on top of leading my company Madison Tanning Company, writing a book and being a survivor of a year I lost one million dollars.

All that fear, anxiety and stress leaves me because I know how to ask the right questions.

The attitude that it takes to change your life takes asking the right question.  What question do you need to ask today?

 

 

 

 

No Responses to “What’s the Question?”

Leave a Reply

