Suslick Step's
You're going to kill it today. High five!

Pink Floyd says “Ticking away the moments that make up a dull day. You fritter and waste the hours in an off hand way. Kicking away …”.

Pink Floyd says “Ticking away the moments that make up a dull day. You fritter and waste the hours in an off hand way. Kicking away …”.

Today we will be discussing “Dale’s Top 10 Time Productivity Tips”.

*Time management is a myth. *We all have 24 hours in a day. *We all can improve productivity.

Today I have “Dale’s Top 10 Time Productivity Tips” that I personally use as a husband, father of 5 and a leader of 110 team members. I am no better, worse or busier than anyone else yet I get things done.

Disclaimer: I have begged, borrowed and stole “Dale’s Top 10 Time Productivity Tips” from many people throughout the years.

As Roger says, I will be serving buffet style today. “Dale’s Top 10 Time Productivity Tips” may not all be for you. Some are downright dorky although take what you can use and leave the rest.

#1. Have crystal clear goals.
-Written -personal -exact -measurable -timelines

#2. Try a time log.
-Productive people record everything for a week. –try it for a day or an hour. –Will end all spider solitaire games for that day if nothing else.

#3. Compress your deadlines.
-Parkinson law: Work expands so as to fill the time available for its completion. –Email in 30 minutes or 4 hours?

#4. Use technology wisely.
-Turn off BB in church.

#5. Pay attention and identify your “prime times” for getting things done.
-Do the tough things in your best time –Ask me about me waking up before the kid’s story.

#6. Take time for maintenance.
-Cars need tire changes, new brake pads and oil changes like humans need time for recharging and re-creation. –Ask me why my parents think I have marriage problems and my working out and stretching story.

#7. NO multi tasking. Do the one main thing one thing at a time.
-Watch how people drive and ask me about my car driving story. –Women are excellent multi task -ers although I still find that my 99% female team of 110 over the last 25 years does far superior work when focused on a single task.

#8. End each day with a brain dump.
-Take the list of your 300 item to do list and whittle down into top 10 to do daily and at the end of the day I take my BB and move everything not done into a new deadline along with a quick glance at tomorrow which if your have to multi task then letting your sub conscious mind work on tomorrow is the best multi tasking you should do. –No time barfing through the day. -You will die with 300 items on your to do list (get over it asap).

#9. Work in BURSTS.
-Maximum attention span is 20 minutes with an average of 8 minutes. –Icebreaker speech example: * hours of prep over 60 days NOT 8 hours the night before.

#10. Dump the TV.
-Personal story of my 9 TV’s. -TV affecting the same part of the brain as heroin addictions.

Bonus tip 10.5 and 10.75 which are 2 questions I ask myself:
Q1: IS what I am doing moving me towards my goals? Q2: Is this the best use of my time right now?

When I can answer yes to both of those questions I know that I have used “Dale’s Top 10 Time Productivity Tips” which means I will not be frittering and wasting away the hours in a day. I’ll be kicking the day in way that is productive.

No Responses to “Pink Floyd says “Ticking away the moments that make up a dull day. You fritter and waste the hours in an off hand way. Kicking away …”.”

Leave a Reply

